309 King William STREET
This L-plan, two-story Italianate house was constructed for sporting goods merchant and gunsmith Charles Hummel. Executed in superb limestone masonry, it is a good example of this significant nineteenth century Texas house type. The use of two varieties of verandah brackets illustrates the style’s tendency toward multiple decorative forms.
‘San Antonio Architecture, Traditions and Visions’, AIA San Antonio, 2007
The Charles F. A. Hummel House, 309 King William Street
The Charles F. A. Hummel House has details, including a protruding gable, arched lintels over the paired front windows and double brackets under the eaves, which give this Italianate limestone structure its unique appearance. Charles Hummel built this house in 1884 for $6000. The 29-year-old, a native San Antonian of German descent, was engaged in the business of selling guns, ammunition and sporting goods. The architects were James Wahrenberger and Albert Beckman. From 1912 to 1920 the Hummels lived at 102 Beauregard, then they moved back to the home on King William Street. C.F. A. Hummel was still listed at this address in 1934, and F. G. Hummel in 1936, the last of the family to live there. In 1941 Marie Wurzbach purchased the house and lived there for about nine years. When she died, she left the property to her grandson, Emil Mitchell Robin. It was rented as apartments for some years and then left vacant. In 1972 restoration was begun by Walter Mathis and finished by Thomas and Kathleen Friedrich. Mr. Friedrich regaled neighbors with stories of his time as a private pilot for Idi Amin. Subsequent owners were: Fernando and Beverly Avila (1990), Dieter and Patricia Onken (1994), and the current owners, Deborah Mueller and John Doski, since 1999.
The King William Area, A History and Guide to the Houses, Mary V. Burkholder and Jessie N.M. Simpson; published by the King William Association, 2017