Armand Halff House
Halff House, a brick masonry Victorian Eclectic house, boasts an imposing two-tiered porch framed by Corinthian columns. A slightly Richardsonian Romanesque quality is added by a wide stone arch over the front door and the remains of Italian Scroll brackets along the eaves.
According to the San Antonio Light, Armand Halff married Hattie Solinsky, a widow, on 14 August 1904. Hattie purchased this lot from J. N. Groesbeck with her separate funds in March of 1906. They loved in her home at 509 South Flores until this house was built. The 1908 city directory lists them living here, and shows his profession as traveling salesman. During their long residence in this house (1908-1954) the family was active socially and philanthropically. The August 23, 1923 front page of the San Antonio Express News described a benefit held here by fourteen-year-old daughter, Carolyn, and Johanna Belle Steves (431 King William), which raised $3.20 for the Ice and Milk Fund, a charity that provided milk to impoverished children.
The house was purchased by David L. and Carol Duke in 1956 and sold to Donald P. Noble in 1995. The size of the house with its large Corinthian columns and spacious porches gives it a sense of solidity. There is beveled glass over the front door and its side panels.
The King William Area, A History and Guide to the Houses, Mary V. Burkholder and Jessie N.M. Simpson; published by the King William Association, 2017